RSS Feed

Umba Tempe Sausages

One of the reasons why this recipe came to be is this:

Umba! made out of chilies and mangoes so the label said

I bought this chutney in Victoria Market and just HAD to bring it home despite my fear of having to pay for excess baggage. It tastes sharp, spicy, and just plain exquisite. According to the label, its main ingredients are mango and chili.
I had vague idea what to do with it. I suppose it would be good with prata or crackers but I had neither. Even my google search for ‘umba’ was not very helpful.
However, I had a feeling that it would go well with cold cuts or their substitute. This included incorporating the chutney into the substitute. Thus, the thought of making vegetarian sausages with it occupied my mind for several days.
In my original plan, the sausage was to use chickpea as its main ingredients, especially because its a ‘middle eastern chutney’, but chickpea is not commonly sold here and so the price might be too high for comfort. So on a holiday, I decided to give it a go with the good old tempe. Lucky there were almonds in the house too. I browsed gazillions of recipes before I whipped my own version of vegetarian sausages. I love sausages, by the way, and this first experience was very exciting.
Since I’m the only vegetarian in the house and this was meant to be a cautious experiment, the serving size was very minimal-only two sausages. But the recipe is quite simple so I guess modifying it for a larger serving won’t be that hard.

Tempe Umba Sausages
Ingredients:

the size of the rye bread I used was about half of this

Two or three thick slices of tempe (from a block of tempe)
About 5 cm long chunk of rye bread cut from a medium sized dinner roll
5 to 6 walnuts
Umba Chutney
1 egg
A bit of olive oil

How to make:

– cut the tempe into cubes and steam them for around 15 minutes

-In the meantime, make rye breadcrumbs from

rye-grating

the bread. I did this by grating the bread

– grind the walnuts. They don’t have to be

ye olde almond grinding tool

powder-fine.

– whisk the egg briefly
– take the steamed tempe and crumble it with you hands.
-still using your hand, mix it with the ground walnuts and half of the breadcrumbs.

– add one tablespoon of the chutney
-Add a bit of the egg and olive oil, mix well.

-mold into a ball and then shape the dough into thick sausage shapes.

– Steam the sausages for around 20 minutes.

coating the sausages

– Just before serving, dip the sausages in the egg and coat them with the remaining breadcrumbs

– Fry using one and a half tablespoons of oil until golden brown.

I loved it. The sausages were substantial and flavorful. They did not fall apart when fried. Using the chutney was very practical and maybe you can experiment with other types.
So that was satisfactory. But I still need more ideas about what to do with this jar of middle eastern goodness. Anyone?

anybody up for umba?

About thoughtsthatdance

I am not much of a dancer. I take wrong steps every now and then, but the mistakes can lead to laughter or lessons.

2 responses »

  1. Hi. I love umba too.
    It’s not really a recipe but I have it with philidelphia cream cheese or bree on crunchy bread. It’s so quick yet tastes amazing. We have it for dinner sometimes when we are to tired to cook.
    I have never thought to actually cook with it so thanks for the idea.
    Stacey

    Reply
    • Hi Stacey! Thanks for dropping by!
      I’m happy to find a fellow fan (I’d be happy to find someone who merely knows what I’m talking about, actually). Umba with brie? hmm..I’l try that out ! I just had a feeling it would go well with nutty flavors.
      Are you from Australia? cause that’s where I bought the jar.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

