RSS Feed

Newstart Vegetarian Cafe

It’s always a delight to discover new places to eat, especially if they are vegetarian-friendly.
My friend Titan gave me a list of vegetarian restaurants in my town, and I found out that one of them, called Newstart Café, was very close to where I live. I’ve dropped by several times to look but only got the chance to sample their food today.

It could use a facade facelift

I’m happy to say that the price was quite sensible. Not super cheap but at least much more budget friendly than the vegetarian place I eat in sometimes at a mall near where I work.
Their everyday menu is gado-gado, mushroom satay, siau mai (dumplings)and soto-Indonesian-style soup.
As I was still feeling poorly, I opted for probably the healthiest available and ordered the “nasi campur” set menu, which basically consists of rice and whatever vegetables and protein they have ready.

The day's menu

That day’s menu was carrot and sweet corn soup (no animal stock! Finally!), spicy tofu and chayote (a relative of squash) stir fry with coconut milk. The whole set cost me Rp 15,000, and it was quite filling. The taste was homemade and the sambal was particularly tasty.

After lunch, I couldn’t resist having something sweet. There were wheat buns and chinese wheat buns. I was enticed by the glazed wheat buns, and ended up munching one filled with palm sugar. I loved that the wheat gave it a substantial, coarse texture unlike other glaze buns sold in bakeries.

They also have “special” items such as their burger and pepes (tofu or other protein stuff wrapped in banana leaf and roasted)

Glazed wheat buns. Filling options include mung beans, palm sugar, and red beans.

I found out that I could also buy stuff such as nuts, flaxseed, mushroom stock and protein flakes here.
Huzzah!

Newstart Cafe

Jl MT Haryono Kavling 4-5. Tebet, Jakarta Selatan

About thoughtsthatdance

I am not much of a dancer. I take wrong steps every now and then, but the mistakes can lead to laughter or lessons.

One response »

  1. this looks like a great find – I love the nasi campu and those buns are so cute

    thanks for asking about linking to my blog – you are welcome to do so

    Reply

Leave a Reply

