RSS Feed

Respects to Tura

One of the female figures I respect highly in this world has passed away today. A very sad news indeed. 

Tura Satana, the gorgeous, courageous and friendly martial arts expert, actress and burlesque dancer, died at 72 in her home. 

People might know her especially for her role in Faster, Pussycat, Kill, Kill! and other Russ Myer’s cult movies. However, it’s her real-life stories that got me admiring her. She was raised as a minority in a “mafia part” of town of Chicago. According to her, distaste towards Orientals (she was partly Japanese and Filipino) were immense. She was harassed often and one day, according to her website, she decided to take on at once five girls who kept on picking on her on her way home from school. 

She won. 

A wikipedia entry on her also mentioned that she was gang-raped once. She decided to learn martial arts and bludgeoned them each 15 years later.

The rape, which never saw the perpetrators sentenced,  also got her sent to reform school. She ended up joining a gang that kicked ass there. 

She rocked. She rocks. 

She was also constantly making updates on facebook, and the last video I saw of her (she must be at least 68 then) depicted her smashing a vase with her bare arms. 

I have been wanting to post something on her wall to tell her that she was an inspiration for me, but I kept pondering if I should, thinking that she already has a cult of followers. 

I regret not doing that. This won’t make up to it, but I’ve also been planning to make an entry about her since a long time ago. 

You’re amazing, Tura! I am proud to share a birthdate with you.

Ps. A movie about her is underway. I hope it does her justice.

About thoughtsthatdance

I am not much of a dancer. I take wrong steps every now and then, but the mistakes can lead to laughter or lessons.

Leave a Reply

