RSS Feed

Cookbook craze

My aunt lent me two of these babies from her casket full of cookbooks. I’m excited and found myself browsing again and again through their pages, planning to try this recipe and that.

Seri Menu Sehari-hari Tanpa Daging, written by Yasa Boga, Published by Gramedia

OK, so it might not be Veganomicon or some hip, ultra-healthy, radical eating guide.Many recipes still uses eggs and the writers even suggested that the readers use animal-derived stocks and the likes of oyster sauce to “enhance the flavor”  But the recipes in these “meat-less everyday food” cookbooks are quite easy to follow because they are based on Indonesian food and uses ingredients you can easily find in the neighborhood markets.  I’m pretty sure most of them can be modified to suit a vegan diet.

I may not go as far as to engage in a cookbook-conquering frenzy a la  Julie & Julia, but boy am I eager to get down and dirty with plenty of these recipes.

About thoughtsthatdance

I am not much of a dancer. I take wrong steps every now and then, but the mistakes can lead to laughter or lessons.

Leave a Reply

