RSS Feed

My Mocca Euphoria

"Annabelle"and Mocca's guitar player, Riko, in the background.

I watched one of my favorite local bands, Mocca, perform, last Friday. It was labeled their “last” concert, and it will likely be so, because their singer, after performing for 12 years with the band, will leave the country soon to be with her future husband in the United States.

It’s really not an exaggeration when I say they’re one of my favorite bands. But I won’t lie, it’s been a while since I listened to them. When I found out that it was their last concert (on the day it was held!) I panicked and started going about on how to watch it. The tickets were reportedly sold out already.

After a few frantic e-mails and dashing about, I finally had access.The show was to be held in a cabaret-musical manner with the title “Annabelle and the Music Box.”

For all of you who are still in the dark about Mocca, they are known for their happy-go-lucky retro songs. They are just plain sweet, too sweet for some who prefer angsty sounds and cynical lyrics. Nope, “Annabelle and the Music Box”is no irony. It’s about a girl who finds a music box that transports her to a wonderland.

Here’s a sample of one of their well-known hits:

So, as I told you, it’s been a while since I heard their songs. When I did, it was emotional overload. I literally smiled and cried at the same time. It’s just that their songs have been in various periods of my life during the last decade. Former boyfriends, circles of friends and memories from different times, went flashing before my eyes.

And the show was good. They had a few guest stars such as the string-voice duo EndahN Rhesa, White Shoes and The Couples Company, guys from SORE and two guys: journalist Soleh Solihun and actor Ringgo Agus Rachma playing the role of the storytellers (they ended up being a cross of talkshow hosts and comedians, but they were damn funny).

I especially liked the Endah N Rhesa collaboration-they picked the right song to work with, the one I posted a video of above, because it went perfectly with the duo’s habit of string duet and playful singing. And as for White Shoes and the Couples Company, I have always thought of their singer-Aprilia Apsari- as one of the hottest woman I have ever seen. And seeing her that night singing together with Mocca’s lovely singer Arina…it was quite overwhelming.

Also, Arina sang one of the few White Shoes’ songs that I know: Senandung Maaf. It was like a very happy coincidence!

Occasionally the sound system experienced very annoying feedbacks, and the acoustic wasn’t amazing, but I think that’s kind of acceptable because they initially planned to hold the show in a different building, with different structure. (The ticket sales were higher than expected and they had to move the show, so they say).

The cabaret show, performed by a a high school cabaret group, was fun and entertaining. and the storyline? well it was cheesy, as with most Mocca’s songs, but that’s just the way they are and I like them nonetheless.

But come to think of it, maybe it wasn’t that simple. I mean, during the intro, it was hinted that all of the events-the girl called Annabelle meeting prince charming, who was killed by the villain but somehow came back to life- were merely a dream. Ah well, like I said, cheesy or profound, I still like them, anyway.

I had a good time. I had to stop by at a friend’s house later to talk and calm my emotions. Silly me.

About thoughtsthatdance

I am not much of a dancer. I take wrong steps every now and then, but the mistakes can lead to laughter or lessons.

Leave a Reply

