RSS Feed

Ramadhan again, a clear start?

Hullo, it’s been a year now hasn’t it? Fasting time has descended upon us again.

I am excited as usual (to me it’s simultaneously a month of challenge and serenity), but with a touch of anxiety. The doctor diagnosed me with throat inflammation a few days ago and I am worried that I might not be too fit to fast.

But I hope for the best. Meanwhile, I am trying to cut back on fried stuff because that’s what causing these throat troubles, apparently (that and exhaustion I guess). But it can be hard considering most of the food I ran into, at home or in warungs (food stalls) are fried, or stir-fried. Yes, we Indonesians love our oily treats.

So to feed myself on a Sunday and for the sahur (pre-dawn) meal, I looked into the Yasa Boga recipe book for a recipe that doesn’t involve frying. I decided to try the Carrot Soup.

For the stock, I bought some vegetarian stock powder in the organic store near my house. It’s quite pricey (around US$3 for a small container) but apparently quite potent. I only had to use like a quarter of a teaspoon for around 750ml of water.

As for the result…I am sad to say that I prefer stir-fries or at least a version of soup that requires one to sautee the spices before adding the water. Old habits are hard to break. or maybe next time I should add more spices to my liking. perhaps some pepper and coriander.

I made some steamed tofu to go along with the soup. but I made a mistake of not marinating it long enough. Next time. next time.

Carrot clear soup

2 large carrots, peeled and cut into matchstick-shape and size, roughly.

around 750 cc of veg stock

150 gr of mushrooms, thinly sliced (I used straw mushrooms)

half a nutmeg, hammered

three spring onions, cut into 3 cm slices

One teaspoon of chopped parsley leafs

Bring the stock to boil.

Add the rest of the ingredients. cook until the vegs are cooked to your liking.

And you’re done. serve with the parsley leafs.

the soup lasted two meals and it was quite filling.

Happy fasting!

About thoughtsthatdance

I am not much of a dancer. I take wrong steps every now and then, but the mistakes can lead to laughter or lessons.

Leave a Reply

