RSS Feed

Idul Fitri again

A big Minal Aidin wal Faidzin to y’all. Do forgive my mistakes, misdemeanors and mishaps. Including not posting for almost a whole month (Then again, that might be considered as doing a favor for some people).

Idul Fitri this year was a fairly quiet affair, but the pleasant routine of cooking together while exchanging tales of the past thankfully prevailed.

As promised to Shaheen of Allotment2kitchen, I will give the recipe for stewed pineapple or Pajri Nanas. I first thought it was an Indian dish, but apparently a search brought up a lot of Malay results. so I guess it’s a Malay dish? yet the ones in the internet are mostly pineapple curry, while this is more like a spice-rich soup. Oh well, whatever it is, it’s a good side dish to accompany spicy entrees such as curry. Or you can nibble it on its own like I did.

The original recipe says that you should make a bundle out of some kind of sheet to wrap the cloves, star anise and cinnamon sticks, but I have just discovered that that was for mere aesthetic reasons and perhaps to prevent one biting into a whole clove. I personally prefer seeing the spices, and I think it’s worth the risk of biting them.

I must apologize beforehand for the low quality of the pictures. My camera acted up and I had to use the phone’s camera. Hope they will at least give a rough description.

Pajri Nanas

2 pineapples, skinned.

1 large cinnamon stick

4 cloves

3 cardamom seeds

6 star anises

around 150 gr sugar ( I used a bit of palm sugar as well)

Discard the hard, light colored core shown to face the camera. The diagonal cuts were used to remove the leftover black bits

remove the stalk, bottom and top of pineapple. skin the fruit using a sharp knife and remove the black bits (we call it the ‘eyes’) left. I do this by making diagonal slices akin to forming a sloping path from the top of the pineapple.

cut the fruit into six pieces, length-wise. Remove the hard parts in the center and slice the pieces into smaller ones.

place the spices at the bottom of a medium sized saucepan and put the pineapple pieces on top of them. cook in low heat. when the juice of the pineapple begins to deplete, start pouring the sugar stirring as you go and tasting it every now and then until you reached the desired sweetness.

There were plenty of ta’jil (fast breaking food) cooking during Ramadhan. Hopefully some of that recipes will make its way here as well. Happy Eid!

About thoughtsthatdance

I am not much of a dancer. I take wrong steps every now and then, but the mistakes can lead to laughter or lessons.

2 responses »

  1. Oh it is so kind of you to give me a special mention and link to my blog, especially as you are celebrating Eid. Your recipe is most appreciated and I am bookmarking it for the future. By the wqy Eid Mabarak to you and your family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

