RSS Feed

Cycling Craze Gives Birth to New Category

Beautiful bikes at the shed

Beautiful bikes at the shed

If anyone at all have been following this blog up to now (wouldn’t blame anyone for not doing that  since it has been ridiculously long  time since I last updated it), you will notice:

a. the changing theme.

b. re-organizing of categories and the appearance of the “bicycle diaries” category.

For (a), I just think it’s time for a re-vamp and WordPress now has so many nifty themes that it’s just proper that I pick one.

and (b) well…I am tidying up the categories so they fall more into the “categories” category rather than “tags”. So I lumped all food-related post (recipes, restaurants, whatnots) to “Food”, artworks by me, artworks by others and other arty stuff to “Arts”, reviews of books, movies, concerts to “Reviews” and so on.

And yes, there’s the “bicycle categories”. I recently took up bike fixing/building and I am still shit at it but I am learning as I go, volunteering at this awesome place called Bikeshed at CERES .

So it is basically an initiative to help promote cycling and re-cycling (ha!) bicycles. There you’ll find free tools to borrow (not to take home), volunteers that will help you fix your bikes or give other cycling-related advices, and a huge pile of used bikes and bike parts. Most of the parts are free since they are donated, and the bike prices vary according to its condition. It can be as cheap as $50 but that means it needs a lot of work done on it.

The bike shed, as the name suggests, is located in a community environmental park called CERES, which also houses a nursery, cafe, garden/farm, and a think-tank/lab for green energy and eco-friendly living.
It will be a long time apparently before I can actually be of any use there but I hope the notes I keep from my days there will help me accelerate the learning process.

Cheers! Bike Punx!

About thoughtsthatdance

I am not much of a dancer. I take wrong steps every now and then, but the mistakes can lead to laughter or lessons.

Leave a Reply

